What regions are in Sudan?

What region is the country of Sudan in?

Sudan, country located in northeastern Africa. The name Sudan derives from the Arabic expression bilād al-sūdān (“land of the blacks”), by which medieval Arab geographers referred to the settled African countries that began at the southern edge of the Sahara.

How many regions are in South Sudan?

10 states and three areas (2020–Present)

State or area Capital Region
Central Equatoria Juba Equatoria
Eastern Equatoria Torit Equatoria
Jonglei Bor Greater Upper Nile
Unity Bentiu Greater Upper Nile

How many states does Sudan have?

Sudan is divided into 18 states, or wilyat. The state with the largest population is Khartoum with 7,993,851 and the state with the smallest population is the Northern state with approximately 936,235 as of 2018.

What region is South Sudan in?

South Sudan, also called Southern Sudan, country located in northeastern Africa.

How many regions are there in Sudan?

This article uses bare URLs, which may be threatened by link rot.

IT IS INTERESTING:  You asked: When did ancient Egypt start to fall?
Sudanese States الولايات السودانية (Arabic)
Number 18 States (9 Province)
Populations 832,112 (Blue Nile) – 5,274,371 (Khartoum)
Areas 22,140 km2 (8,549 sq mi) (Khartoum) – 348,770 km2 (134,659 sq mi) (Northern)
Government State government

Why is Sudan divided?

Sudan, once the largest and one of the most geographically diverse states in Africa, split into two countries in July 2011 after the people of the south voted for independence. … Sudan has long been beset by conflict.

What are the major religions in Sudan?

The Pew Research Center estimates that 91 percent of the population is Muslim, 5.4 percent is Christian, 2.8 percent follow folk religions, and the remainder follow other religions or are unaffiliated.

How many tribes are in South Sudan?

The ethnicity of South Sudan is richly diverse. There is 64 tribes or ethnic groups are natives of the nascent nation. Many of these ethnic groups share common culture, very closely-link cultural traits with intelligible languages which forming distinct larger family units.

Where is South Sudan in Africa?

South Sudan is a landlocked country in Northeast Africa. It is bordered by Sudan, Ethiopia, Kenya, Uganda, Democratic Republic of the Congo, and Central African Republic. It includes the vast swamp region of the Sudd that is formed by the White Nile river.

Is Sudan North or East Africa?

The UN subregion of North Africa consists of 7 countries at the northernmost part of the continent — Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, Sudan, Tunisia, Western Sahara. North Africa is an economically prosperous area, generating one-third of Africa’s total GDP.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Your question: How can I immigrate to Canada from Egypt?

How many tribes are in Sudan?

There are many non-Arab ethnic groups in Sudan, the most well known being the Nubians, the Beja, the Fur, the Zaghawa and the Nuba. Within each ethnic group there are multiple tribes, amounting to over 500 sub-tribes in total.

What was Sudan originally called?

Nubia: from 3000 BC

The region known in modern times as the Sudan (short for the Arabic bilad as-sudan, ‘land of the blacks’) has for much of its history been linked with or influenced by Egypt, its immediate neighbour to the north.

Is South Sudan in the Middle East?

By the mid-20th century a common definition of the Middle East encompassed the states or territories of Turkey, Cyprus, Syria, Lebanon, Iraq, Iran, Israel, the West Bank, the Gaza Strip, Jordan, Egypt, Sudan, Libya, and the various states and territories of Arabia proper (Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Yemen, Oman, Bahrain, …

Is Sudan and South Sudan the same?

The main difference between Sudan and South Sudan is that Sudan or the Republic of Sudan has been recognized as an independent country for a long time now whereas South Sudan has been recognized as an independent country recently in 2011 after the independence referendum. They were one nation until 2011.

What country borders Sudan?

Sudan shares borders with seven countries including Libya and Egypt to the North, Chad to the West, the Central African Republic to the South-West, South Sudan to the South, Ethiopia to the South-East and Eritrea to the East.